Spider-man Cape tutorial

We are having a Super Hero Training camp for my son in a few weeks. I decided to make Batman and Spider-man masks and capes for the kids. I finished all the masks and Batman capes with no problem. But when I moved on to the Spider-man cape I ran into a bunch of problems. So I thought I’d share with you how I finally was able to make the cape.

Materials needed for black cape:

  • 22″ x 30″ piece of black felt (I got the felt by the yard it was 44″ wide so you can get 2 capes from 30″)
  • 1 sheet white felt
  • 1 sheet red felt
  • 1 piece of medium or heavy weight interfacing (I used Pellon’s Craft Fuse ’cause that’s what I had on hand)
  • 2″ piece of velcro, black if you have it
  • Black, red and white thread
  • TWO pint outs of Spider-man’s head (I just googled Spider-man head and looked for an image I liked)
  • 1 cape template (I got mine from Jolly Mom, she was brave enough to cut out a spider for her cape. I chickened out and did Spidey’s mask)
  • A black (or dark colored marker)
  • White marking pencil
  • An Iron

Materials needed for pink cape:

  • 22″ x 30″ piece of pink felt (I got the felt by the yard it was 44″ wide so you can get 2 capes from 30″)
  • 1 sheet white felt
  • 1 sheet lavender felt
  • 1 piece of medium or heavy weight interfacing (I used Pellon’s Craft Fuse ’cause that’s what I had on hand)
  • 2″ piece of velcro, white if you have it
  • Black, lavendar and white thread
  • TWO pint outs of Spider-man’s head
  • 1 cape template
  • A black (or dark colored marker)
  • An Iron

** for this tutorial the pictures will vary from the black cape to the pink cape. Sorry about that. Where I forgot to take pictures as I was making the black cape, I went back and took them as I was making the pink cape.

Step 1: Cut your black (pink) felt to 22 x 30.

Step 2: Fold your felt in 1/2 long ways and cut out the shape of your cape using the template. Set the cape aside for now.

Step 2 cut out cape

Step 3: Cut out the head from 1 of your Spider-man print outs. I couldn’t figure out how to get the web pattern on to the felt. And then BAM! What if I sewed Dot to dot? Why not! Use a hole punch and punch a hole in each place the spidey webs intersect. I used my crop-o-dile, any hole punch should work as long as it’s small.

Step 3 Punch holes

Step 4: Trace the outline of the head onto the non-fuse side of the interfacing. Also put a dot in each hole. Here is what my template and interfacing looked like after tracing.

Step 4 Trace the head and dots

Step 5: Fuse the interfacing to your red (lavender) felt. Be careful to not have your iron too hot or you can melt the felt. Believe me, do not try this without the interfacing. I did that with my 1st try and the webbing distorted the face so bad that it no longer really looked like face.

Step 5 fuse the interfacing to felt

Step 6: Cut out the head shape from the felt / interfacing.

Step 6 Cut out felt

Step 7: Use the dots and sew dot to dot with black thread. I sewed all the straight lines 1st then went back and did the webbing. I used my darning foot (also called hopping or quilting foot) with the feed dogs dropped. That let me do the curves really easily. Step 7 webs sewn backStep 7 webs sewn frontYou could also sew this by hand if you didn’t have a machine.

The interfacing solved 2 problems. 1) It prevented the felt from distorting as the web was sewn 2) If you try to use the marker directly on the felt it will bleed thru to the front.

Step 8: From the 2nd Spider-man face cut out the black (larger) part of Spider-man’s eye. Trace it on to the piece of felt that you cut out of the cape for the neck. You can either trace it 2 times and cut out both, or trace it once and fold the felt in 1/2 and cut out 2 layers. I like the fold over method better as the eyes turned out the exact same shape.

Step 8 Trace the outer eye

Step 9: Cut the inner white eye from the 2nd Spider-man face. Use the same method as above and cut out two white eye parts.

(Insert forgotten picture here! Let me know if you have one, em-kay? Thanks bunches!)

Step 10: Pin and sew the white inner eye to the black outer eye.

Step 10 Pin and sew the eye pieces

Step 11: Pin and sew the eyes to the Spider-man head. (You can see that I used my closed darning foot instead of my favorite open one. The open one would have caught on the edges of the felt too much.)

Step 11 Sew Spiderman eyes

Step 12: Pin and sew the Spider-man head to the cape.

Step 12 Pin Spider-man to cape

Step 13: Pin and sew the velcro on to the cape.

Step 13 Sew on the velcro

Step 14:Admire your completed cape!

Step 14 completed cape

Step 15: Pose and take pictures. And what you can’t see was him running around and “flying.” Pretty sure he likes it.

Step 15 Play

Inspiration:

  • Cape – Jolly Mom (she has a great no sew tutorial for superhero capes)

Super Hero Training Camp Posts:

 

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Stupendous Sewing, Terrific Tutorials and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spider-man Cape tutorial

  1. Pingback: Spider-Man Birthday Party — GracefuLily

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

