Under Construction

Getting ready for N’s Superhero Training Camp brings back memories of his last parties. N has always been a fan of construction trucks. So it seemed logical to have a construction themed party.

The invite had to of course be orange. I used some brown glimmer mist to make it look like it had been thru a construction site. I also used some silver brads for the dump truck’s headlights.

Instead of streamers I had hubs buy some construction warning tape from Home Depo. It was a lot cheaper than buying it from a party store because we used it EVERYWHERE.

Construction InvitationCaution tape as streamers

The “cake” was actually a brownie. I meant to take it out of the pan to decorate it, but I forgot to put parchment paper on the bottom. Oops. It was still too much fun to decorate. N had some mini construction trucks that were the perfect scale. I ground up some Oreos for dirt and colored coconut for grass. Licorice and white Good & Plenties made up the road. And was finished off with traffic cone candles. N was in AWE of the cake and couldn’t take his eyes off of it.

I used my favorite trick of using quilting fabric for a table cloth. It sure makes it easy to find a table cloth that matches the theme. And as a bonus I get more STASH!.

Construction Cake

I also had set up several construction games. We had some traffic cones (shesh, don’ you have traffic cones? Don’t ask why we have them.) in the garage. I took a dowel rod and taped on numbered flags for each game station.

The first station was the foreman’s office. Where the kids were going to make some construction plans, i.e. decorate their placemat. The placemat was construction paper and I had plenty of markers and stickers. (um, well I was having so much fun at the party I forgot to take pictures. So you’ll have to do with mostly before pictures and imagine a bunch of kids having fun.)

The 2nd station was digging the foundation. Which of course was using all of N’s construction trucks in the sandbox.
Party game 1: Foreman's Office - Make construction plansParty game 2: Sandbox - Dig the Foundation

The 3rd and last station was Lego building.Party game 3: Lego Table - Building N and his cousin were really having fun waiting for the other kids to show up. And you can see Gram-ma got into the spirit with a tool belt and her own hard hat.

Tomorrow I’ll tell you about my FAVORITE party – STEAMTRAINS!!!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Precious Parties and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

