Burried in WIP

At last count I have 15 quilts in various stages of completeness otherwise known as WIP (work in progress). The oldest one dates back to 2003!!!! Almost 10 years old! Yikes!

My problems is that I really like the design process, I really like piecing, and I really like quilting. But (you knew there was a but didn’t ya?!) I very much dislike pinning quilt sandwiches and I get too frustrated quilting anything on my Bernina much bigger than a crib quilt.

Unsurprisingly almost all of the smaller size quilting projects that I have started are complete, and all but 1 of my WIPs are LARGE lap or bed quilts.

It didn’t used to bother me how many WIPs I had but it does bother me that they are intended for people to snuggle with and enjoy and they are just sitting in a bin in the craft cave.

So I am going on a mission! To finish at least 3 of my current WIPs by the end of this year.

Here are some of the contenders:

The quilt on the left is “May You” a crib quilt I started before M was born (she’s 2 now) and was supposed to be for her crib. We are moving her into a big girl bed next month.

The right is “Wonky Trucks.” The picture is only a block, but it’s a whole top now just waiting for it’s borders. This one was supposed to be ready for N’s birthday LAST year!

May You Crib Quilt
Wonky Trucks

These two are both for my bed. And since the Ah-hem store bought quilt that is on the bed is falling apart, I should really get to finishing these.

The lone star is so far just a medallion and will need some additional blocks to help fill it out to bed size.

Lone StarDouble Irish Chain

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

