Double the Fun

There is no rest for the crafty. Ok, that’s not quite how that phrase goes, but it seems so much nicer. As soon as I got done with M’s party I got back to work on two floor pillows for some VERY special twins.

The twin’s crib bedding came Olli & Lime .  The bedding comes in a cloth bag that matches the bed set.  That bag was the starting point for the pillows.

The fabric had a very crisp and modern design.  I didn’t want to compete or over power it. So I bought a variety of tone on tone fabrics with geometric type designs.

But I REALLY struggled trying to find a pattern that would highlight the bedding fabric and keep its modern feel. So I did research.  Wanna guess where? What?! How did you know I went to Pintrest?!

But where I really found the perfect idea was my good friend Amy over at Butterfly Angles Quilting. She made this great modern girly lap quilt (image on the left). But if I used that pattern, used different colors and shrank it to pillow size (image on the left).
Amy's Girly QuiltJ Back

Ok, now I have one pattern done. Now to come up with 3 more.  Oh, I didn’t mention I wanted the pillows to be 2 sided? Yea!

I wanted to do something with circles.  I found lots of great circle quilts, but nothing just right.

I liked the one on the left from Moda Bake Shop, but I couldn’t figure out how to utilize the bag fabric. The pattern was to big to use as the circles, and it was to busy to use as the backing fabric. The one on the right from Ahh…Quilting was getting much closer.

So what if I did the accent fabrics in offset circles and the bedding fabric on the sides. I wanted the circles to flow from one to another just like in the bedding fabric. So add some ric rac (LOVE ric rac), and VIOLA #2!!!!

C Back
Now for the front side of the pillows. I really wanted to use the twins initial on the pillow. I can thank my friend Amy for that idea too. She’s a genius when it comes to adding applique on top of pieced work or appliqueing names on to kids quilts to really personalize them.

The pattern I ended up using is actually inspired from a card layout that I use quite a bit.

C frontJ's Pillow front

The pillow cases open on the bottom with velcro to put in the 24″ x 24″ pillow form.

I just love how the turned out.  And so did Olli & Lime (Eeek! I was so excited when they put these pillows on their blog!).

Inspirations:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting, Stupendous Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Double the Fun

  1. These came out a million times better than I could have done!!! GREAT job!!

  2. Janet says:

    You are amazing…The babies may not fully appreciate these yet, but I sure do..you couldn’t have nailed my taste better if you lived next door!!!! xoxoxoxoxxo

  3. Pingback: pillow talk

  4. andy says:

    You did a wonderful job with the pillows! It’s great to see our bags being put to such creative use. I’ve linked here from our original post, so people can get more detail. Thanks again for sharing.

  5. Pingback: Rockin’ Good Time | Not Your Normal Steam

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

