Duck-a-Palooza – Part 4 Homemade Gifts

Being that M is a second child and both she and her brother are HORRIBLY spoiled I really struggled with what to get for her presents.  When I don’t know what to do I research.  Where? Why, Pinterest! Duh!

Well both M and N love to pretend and have been on a big animal pretend kick. The possibilities were endless. I decided on… FELT MASKS!!! No need to worry about open seams. Easy to cut. Easy to sew. The hardest part was deciding WHICH animals to use.

The masks were all made from 2 layers of felt and an elastic headband. I had a foam animal mask that I used for the original template and just went crazy from there. They are pretty quick to make as well.  Once I got the hang of it each one was about an hour to make.  I used some help from my Cuttlebug & Nesatbilities dies to cut out the eye holes and noses which really made things much faster.

I decided that it would be fun to also have a tail. For each of the masks. The tails are also felt with a strip of velcro on the back. But, I sewed a belt from quilting cotton and used a velcro closure and velco in the middle to attach the tail.

Since M LOVES LOVES LOVES Ducks and I found nearly the perfect pattern for a felt costume.  Her brother N is shown modeling the costume sans Tutu. Not because he didn’t want to wear it (that boy loves dress up of any kind including tutus, much to his dad’s chagrin), but because it wasn’t done when the picture was taken.

Lastly was the Elmo shirt. Again felt (love the no fray edge!!!!) appliqued on to a store bought shirt.

Masks and costumes

M really loved her masks and costumes. And its so cute to see the two of them playing pretend.

That’s it for Duck-a-Palooza!!! Maybe tomorrow I’ll have a (near) finished quilt to show you.

Inspirations:

Duck-a-Palooza

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Precious Parties, Stupendous Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Duck-a-Palooza – Part 4 Homemade Gifts

  1. They all look awesome! Thanks for letting me know you were inspired by my blog. Love hearing from people! Very Cool!

  2. tutu dresses says:

    Appreciating the persistence you put into your
    website and in depth information you provide. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information.
    Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  3. wow, thank you for the shout out! your masks are amazing!!!

  4. Krystal says:

    Did you make temples? Willing to share?

  5. Krystal says:

    You are one talented crafter!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

