Star Tree Skirt: Concept to Completion – Step 3 Assembly

This year I was not highly motivated to take down my Christmas decorations. So, I made a deal with myself that I wouldn’t be allowed to craft until I got them down.

Unfortunately, that motivation didn’t work so well. You see, we have been stuck in that polar vortex with temps hovering around -20 deg F. And that’s without the windchill. Oh, and did I mention, the craft cave is in our (as of yet) unheated basement. So although I have wanted to sew, I have in no way wanted to head downstairs!

The temperature was predicted to be in the 20s today. And although that may seem cold to many of you, keep in mind that’s 40 degrees warmer than it has been! So last night I finally got my act together and got all the Christmas decorations down. Which meant of course that after bundling up, I took some time to finally appliqué the musical instruments on the star tree skirt.

Last time I worked on this skirt I shared with you my mistake design enhancement to alternate the log cabin blocks. I am pretty happy with how that turned out. I really like the alternating colors. And it gives an illusion of to turned squares.

I knew I wanted to appliqué on the log cabin blocks. I decided that since the red fabric had a bunch of musical instruments that I should continue that theme. I ended up with a mandolin, violin, drum, and bell on the yellow. And used a trumpet, saxaphone, French horn and lyre on the red fabric.

20140201-151353.jpg
Right now the instruments look pretty plain. But, I’ll add more details when I quilt it.

20140201-161636.jpg

I am pretty happy with it so far, but I still don’t know how I am going to quilt it. I have a few ideas rolling around in my head. But they need more time to simmer before I make the final decision.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Star Tree Skirt: Concept to Completion – Step 3 Assembly

  1. vicki truesdale says:

    that is beautiful. love the idea and the look is great!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

